Sales in retail trade up by 1.2 percent in Eurozone

Turnover generated by retail trade in May in the Eurozone (EZ15) increased by 1.2% as compared to April 2008. In the EU27 sales were up by 1.3%. In comparison with April this year, when the changes on the previous month had been -0.6% and -0.4% respectively, this is a significant improvement.

Compared to May 2007 the retail trade index for the Eurozone increased by 0.2% and by 2.0% for the EU27. These figures are estimates by the European Statistical Office (Eurostat).

Monthly changes

Turnover in foodstuffs, beverages and tobacco goods increased by 0.5% and 0.8% in the Eurozone and EU27 respectively in May this year as compared to the previous month. The non-food sector grew by 1.7% and 1.6% respectively.

Among EU member states which made data available there were eight countries in which the total retail trade volume decreased and also eight in which it increased. In Bulgaria and Slovenia sales remained unchanged. The most important increases were registered in Luxembourg (+4.6%), Great Britain (+2.2%) and Austria (+1.6%). The biggest drops were in Lithuania and Romania (-6.3% each) and Latvia (-2.4%).

Annual changes

In May 2008 sales in foodstuffs, beverages and tobacco goods were up by 1.4% and 0.1% in the Eurozone and EU27 respectively as compared to May 2007. For non-food products the respective figures were +1.1% and +3.6%.

The retail trade volume increased in thirteen member states and fell in five. The most significant increases were registered in Great Britain (+7.2%), Lithuania (+7.0%) and Romania (+6.8%) while Estonia, Spain and Latvia had to cope with the most important decreases of -5.1% each.


  • Eurozone (EZ15): Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia, Finland, Cyprus and Malta
  • EU27: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden and Great Britain